Click here to skip to content

The British Library Advisory Council

In order to play a significant role at the centre of the UK’s knowledge network it is essential that the Library obtains good advice on the broad scope of its operations and policies for future developments. The Council helps to ensure that the British Library's plans are formulated and implemented effectively.

The members of the Advisory Council are:


Sir David Arculus


Robin Adams
Chair, Northern Ireland Publications Resource

Stephen Bourne
Administrator & Chapter Clerk, Ely Cathedral

Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Distinguished Professor of the Humanities School of Advanced Study, University of London

Professor Anne Dell
Professor of Carbohydrate Biochemistry, Department of Biological Sciences, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Professor Tim Hitchcock
Professor of Digital History, University of Sussex.  Co-Director, Old Bailey Online

Professor Aled Gruffydd Jones
Chief Executive and Librarian, National Library of Wales

Janet Peters
Director of University Libraries and University Librarian, Cardiff University

Liz Jolly
Director, Library and Information Services, Teesside University

Lord Jay of Ewelme
Member of the House of Lords

Professor Kevin Schürer
Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Leicester

Linda Tomos
Director, CyMAL

Martyn Wade
Librarian, National Library of Scotland

Professor John Wood
Secretary General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities

British Library Board member Dr Maggie Semple also attends Advisory Council meetings to provide a link to the Board.

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.